Choose Index below for a list of all words and phrases defined in this glossary.

Information Assurance Standard 6 (IAS 6)

index | Index

Information Assurance Standard 6 (IAS 6) - definition(s)

Information Assurance Standard 6 (IAS 6) - The Information Assurance Standard 6 (IAS 6) is legislation enacted by the British government in May 2009 as part of its Security Policy Framework (SPF). SPF is a response to government data breaches uncovered in the government's Data Handling Review.

IAS 6 requires all government agencies to submit reports of compliance to the U.K. Cabinet Office to prove that the methods they use to process and store sensitive personal information are secure. The original reporting deadline was 15 June, 2009.

IAS 6 is supported by Good Practice Guide 15, which is published by the U.K. Cabinet Office and the Communications-Electronics Security Group (CESG). CESG gives a more prescriptive explanation of not only the data that must be collected for the report, but also how to collect it.

Related glossary terms: IFRS (International Financial Reporting Standards), National Health Service (NHS), Code of Connection (CoCo), European Union (EU) Data Protection Directive, Privacy and Electronic Communications Regulations (PECR), Financial Services Authority (FSA), Good Practice Guide 13, Basel II New Accord, British Standards Institution (BSI), UK Government Connect Secure Extranet (GCSX)

[Category=Data Management ]

Source:, 16 August 2013 07:59:30, External

Data Quality Glossary.  A free resource from GRC Data Intelligence. For comments, questions or feedback: