_____ _____ Kiribati

Global Sourcebook for International Data Management

                                         by Graham Rhind



This resource costs about € 500 per month to host and maintain. Help me to keep it updated and free for all by donating as little as € 1 at Ko-Fi here. Alternatively, use one of these links to make purchases at Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk, for which I receive a small remuneration at no cost to yourself. Thank you


Global Sourcebook | Index | Properties


33 islands in the Pacific, of which 21 are inhabited.

For supplementary information, see links to post office home pages here External, to postal code pages here External and to other personal name and addressing issues pages here External.

Table of Contents

Kiribati - Country information


Local short name form

Official name



119 438 (2020) [1]



International telephone access code


ISO 3166 country codes

Car nationality plate code

Internet country code


GRC Country Code


Kiribati - Number format

   Note: This section last updated 6th May 2021

(where . indicates the decimal separator and , the thousands separator)

Kiribati - Date and time formats


   Note: This section last updated 6th May 2021

Kiribati - Languages


97.2% of the population speak Kiribati External, the national language. There are a small number of English External-speakers.

Kiribati - Example address format


   Note: This section last updated 22nd December 2020



There are post offices in Betiuo, Bairiki and Bikenibeu on South Tarawa. There are no deliveries to houses. Deliveries are to post office boxes or to a poste restante service at the central post office in Bairiki.

On outer islands there are one-man postal agencies, usually located at the Island Council offices, but manned by a central government employee. Incoming mail will be sorted by village, with that for remote villages usually being delivered in bulk by the Island Council messenger.

   A table containing information about the relevant position of elements within address blocks can be acquired External

Kiribati - Post office box


   Note: This section last updated 2nd August 2020

This is written PO Box. Private mail bag is used for deliveries to schools on the outer islands.

Kiribati - Postal codes


   Note: This section last updated 21st December 2020

A postal code was introduced in Kiribati on 30th September 2020. It is written to the right of the island name. The code is six digits in the format:


The first two characters are always KI. The third character is always 0. The fourth character is 1 for the Gilbert Islands, 2 for the Phoenix Islands and 3 for the Line Islands. The final two digits point to the island and (for South Tarawa) post office.

The codes currently in use are:

Island Postal code
Makin KI0101
Butaritari KI0102
Marakei KI0103
Abaiang KI0104
North Tarawa KI0105
South Tarawa (Tangintebu - Tanaea) KI0106
South Tarawa (Bairiki - Taborio) KI0107
South Tarawa (Betio) KI0108
Maiana KI0109
Kuria KI0110
Aranuka KI0111
Abemama KI0112
Nonouti KI0113
Tabnorth KI0114
Tabsouth KI0115
Onotoa KI0116
Beru KI0117
Nikunau KI0118
Tamana KI0119
Arorae KI0120
Banaba KI0121
Kanton KI0201
Birnie KI0202
Enderbury KI0203
Manra KI0204
Mckean KI0205
Nikumaroro KI0206
Orona KI0207
Rawaki KI0208
Teraina KI0301
Tabuaeran KI0302
Christmas KI0303
Malden KI0304
Starbuck KI0305
Millennium KI0306
Vostock KI0307
Flint KI0308

Kiribati - Postal code format graphic


Kiribati - Postal code format

Kiribati - Postal code specifics

Kiribati - Postal code regular expression


Kiribati - Postal code level of coverage


Kiribati - Postal code map


Kiribati - Administrative districts


Kiribati has 3 units External ( Gilbert Islands External, Line Islands External, Phoenix Islands External) split into 6 districts ( Banaba External, Central Gilberts External, Line Islands External, Northern Gilberts External, Southern Gilberts External, Tarawa External) and 21 island councils - one for each of the inhabited islands ( Abaiang External, Abemama External, Aranuka External, Arorae External, Banaba External, Beru External, Butaritari External, Kanton External, Kiritimati External (Christmas Island), Kuria External, Maiana External, Makin External, Marakei External, Nikunau External, Nonouti External, Onotoa External, Tabiteuea External, Tabuaeran External, Tamana External, Tarawa External, Teraina External).

Administrative districts graphic


Telephone numbers in Kiribati


   Note: This section last updated 11th October 2016

Kiribati telephone numbers have no area code. Fixed subscriber numbers have 5 digits. Mobile numbers have 5 or 8 digits and commence with 30, 5, 6, 7 or 9.

   Tables of telephone number information/formats can be acquired – see http://www.grcdi.nl/telephone.htm External 

Properties with value Kiribati


  1. ^ citypopulation.de/en/kiribati/ External 20230123

Every effort is made to keep this resource updated. If you find any errors, or have any questions or requests, please don't hesitate to contact the author.

All information copyright Graham Rhind 2024. Any information used should be acknowledged and referenced.